Split Pea Stew with Sweet Potatoes and Kale (Bean Bread on the Side)

I’ve been trying out split peas lately and have been wanting to try this stew, based on a recipe in Colleen Patrick-Goudreau’s Color Me Vegan (my favorite cookbook, btw).

Image

The original recipe called for yellow split peas, but I used green instead. It called for collards, but I used kale instead. It is oil free and soy free.

Image

Split peas take an hour to cook, so with prep time, this whole thing takes about an hour and a half. That’s a long time, and is why I waited until a day I wasn’t working to make it. I also took advantage of my extra time on a holiday to made a side of bean bread (from Vegetarian Soups for all Seasons cookbook).

Image

Have you ever asked me where do I get my protein? Just one serving of the stew plus the bread provide 18 grams of protein (and only 5 grams of fat.)

Categories: Dinner, Soup/Stews | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

