Chickpea Stew with Dumplings

This was a new dish for me. I remember when I was growing up, my mom made chicken and dumplings. It was one of my favorite meals. Even before I turned vegetarian at age 12, I wasn’t a huge fan of animal meat. So, I tended to pick around the chicken and eat a lot of dumplings. This recipe is a bit healthier I think, has more vegetables and less animal (okay, no animal).

And, it is surprisingly simple.

Go here for the full recipe: Peas and Thank You. I only made one modification.

First, make the stew (onion, celery, carrots, chickpeas, herbs, water, bullion and cornstarch to thicken it up):

On the side, make the dough for the dumplings. Here it is, before I added coconut oil and non-dairy milk. (Note, I used coconut oil instead of non-dairy butter, per the suggestion by my cousin. It worked great!)

Sorry, bad picture. Very bad.

Anyway, plop the dough (after you mix it with the oil and non-dairy milk) on top of the stew. Cover and bake for about 15 minutes.

Seriously, this was really good!

Categories: Dinner, Soup/Stews | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

