Asparagus and Greens Salad

Have I mentioned I love asparagus season? There’s only about a month left, so we’ve been eating it every week. I found a recipe in my latest issue of Vegetarian Times that I modified and put into a salad.

To prepare, chop up the asparagus into 1 inch pieces.

Slice the garlic and green parts of green onions or spring onions.

I also had some dried sweet red pepper lying around that I accidentally bought, so I decided to throw that in the mix. I soaked it in water for 10 minutes to reconstitute, then through it in the saute with the onions, garlic and a bit of oil.

(Because I’m putting this in a salad with salad dressing, I didn’t add any spices here.)

Then add the asparagus and cook until soft but crisp. Remove from heat, and add fresh mint leaves and almonds, if you have them.

Mix with greens, cooked quinoa and chickpeas.

Top with rhubarb salad dressing. Delish.

Categories: Dinner | Tags: , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Asparagus and Greens Salad

  1. Pingback: Rhubarb Salad Dressing « What We Eat

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

