Baked Cashew Mac n’Cheese

“I love my mac n’ cheese!”

I said this over and over again the night I made it for my friend Laura’s 30th birthday party.

And would you be surprised to learn that I was not the only one talking about how good it was? And those folks were surprised when they found out it was vegan. Man did that make me feel proud.

The full recipe for the cashew-based, non-dairy cheese sauce is at this link, from the the Real Food Daily Cookbook. (You can use 3 tbs corn starch instead of agar agar flakes, and I don’t think 1/4 cup miso paste is necessary. I use about half of that.) Once you make the sauce, you mix it with about 20 ounces cooked elbow macaroni, bake for 15 minutes, then top with  3/4 cup bread crumbs, and bake for 10 more minutes.

It is not low-fat, low-calorie, or low-sodium, but it is delicious and less animals were harmed in the process. Even vegans get to indulge, and this is probably my favorite home-made indulgence.

Categories: Indulgence, Potlucks Tailgates and Road Trips | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

