Pattypan Squash

For the past few years I’ve walked by this funny-looking squash in my local farmer’s market.

But I didn’t know what it was, nor how to cook with it. Then this year I got two of these squash – aka pattypan squash – through our Community/Urban Supported Agriculture (CSA) program, Farm to Family. That same week, I got my edition of Vegetarian Times, which had a feature on pattypan squash. The stars had aligned; it was time for me to test it out.

I sliced it in rounds. Then I sauted it with garlic scapes, toasted pine nuts, raisins, lemon and fresh parsley. Garlic scapes were also a new discovery for me as a result of our CSA. Garlic scapes are the green, curling top of the garlic bulb, and are edible.

Later in the month, Matt used pattypan squash to make a squash and potato summer soup from the cookbook, Color Me Vegan.

You can essentially use it like you would use other squash or zucchini, so put it raw in a salad, cook it in a stew with other vegetables for ratatouille, or grill it. You can eat the entire squash, minus the stem. You do not need to peel it.

Categories: Sides | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

